Like all old estates, the Château des Gimarets has a rich history and has produced Moulin-à-Vent wines since 4 centuries.
The region of Beaujolais was first cultivated by the Romans who planted the areas along their trading route up the Saône Valley. They had already planted different wine varietals. Since the Middle Ages the Gamay varietal has become the grape variety in Beaujolais.
The Château des Gimarets winery started in the 17th century, during the reign of Louis XIV, when Molière was giving his plays, Lully composing his music and Rembrandt his paintings. The castle was built in 1650 on the foundation of a Roman Villa already surrounded by vineyards.
Due to a fire in 1780, it was rebuilt in 1810 by order of a lawyer, Louis Chaumet, a French prosecutor of Mâcon. Since then it has looked like a big square romantic house, with its specifically symmetric roofs and windows.

This romantic house is located in a bicentennial park with very old trees like cedar trees, oak trees and pine trees facing the vineyards, near the windmill.
Eric and Nathalie Boyer have owned the estate since 2007, modernized its equipment and grown 4.4 hectares of vineyards.
With their ambitious project of nature-conscious wine growing, they have produced a top-quality wine which has regularly won medals. It is also listed in the renowned French 'Guide Hachette', and is a medalist from the 'Mâcon International Wine Fair', the 'Tastevinage of Clos Vougeot', 'Les Grands Vins du Beaujolais of Villefranche-sur-Saône', the 'Féminalise of Beaune'...
They welcome private or group customers. They have also created a B & B which opens onto the park.